CIRCULAR CLOTHING
IS THE FUTURE

Can you imagine designing textiles which are completely safe and fully circular? It is our vision to make this change possible – for a better planet! For today’s products to become tomorrow’s raw materials, a circular approach is needed.

RCC illustration

Design for Circularity

Sharing knowledge through a hands-on guideline and workshops.

Source Safe Materials

Sharing joint supply chains to source Cradle to CradleTM materials together.

Certify together Cradle to Cradle Certified®

Collaborating and giving access to an “umbrella” Cradle to Cradle® Certification.

Use & Reuse

Sharing knowledge to rental, 2nd hand, repair and upcycling services.

Return to Earth

Giving access to shared return logistics and industrial composting facilities.

RE-THINK CIRCULAR CLOTHING

We believe in making Cradle to Cradle® the industry standard and empowering small fashion and textile labels to join forces to accelerate the paradigm shift towards greater social and environmental responsibility.

Read more

Thanks to intensive material and manufacturing research, Circular Clothing has already launched over 30 Cradle to Cradle Certified® products. This ground-breaking success is based on a shared supply chain and access to circular materials and manufacturing processes, as well as the support of partners such as the Migros Pioneer Fund, epeaswitzerland and the City of Zurich.

The industry and local authorities do not yet offer a solution for composting used Cradle to Cradle products. Until then, you can make a positive contribution by not disposing of Cradle to Cradle products in household waste, but by returning them to our cooperative members or depositing them in clothing collection centers. In this way, the textiles are returned to the correct material cycle. By reusing or recycling them, we reduce the consumption of new materials and thus protect our planet. Thank you very much!

How far are you in the process of going circular?

Would you like to become a circular textile label? Get started on your Cradle to Cradle® certification journey by taking this assessment.

ASSESS MY PRODUCT
Product
Material Health
Circular Product Design
Renewable Energy
Water Stewardship and Soil

*The credits for implementation and finalisation: Jamliah Joseph and credits for ideation: Bachelor Students of HSLU DMI; Stefanie Bumbacher, Julia Ahlberg, Yehia Abouzaid and Katharina Payr.

READY FOR THE CIRCULAR JOURNEY?

Become a Circular Clothing Cooperative member or Associate now and help shape the future: More circular and healthy products for everyone!

Still have questions? Then contact us via info@circularclothing.org

We look forward to meeting you!

The Circular Clothing cooperative members

FOR A BETTER PLANET

The current fashion industry and, in particular, the fast-fashion sector, devours resources. It wears people out, poisons ecosystems and destroys the livelihoods of millions.

As much as 60% of all clothes become waste within a year of their production, and 40% of all produced clothes are not even sold nor used*. This is a tremendous waste of resources. Additionally, many of the materials used in the industry are not safe for humans and the environment due to toxic and cancerous substances.

Read more

These challenges are pervasive in the fashion industry, and they are very real. For the sake of the planet we want to leave for future generations, we need to rethink how we design, make and use clothes.

We envision a zero-waste textile industry, where existing resources are used in a continuous and closed loop. We want to stop the exploitation of the Earth and preserve our planet for future generations.

Source: *Ellen MacArthur Foundation

USE CIRCULAR ECONOMY

Closing the loop means shifting from a linear to a circular system: from the current ‘take, make, waste’ model towards a closed-loop system or ‘circular economy’.

The circular-economy approach for the textile industry aims to eliminate waste and stop the careless use of resources. From the start, garments are designed for reuse, sharing, repair, remanufacturing, recycling or composting to create a closed-loop system and minimise the use of resource inputs and the creation of waste, pollution, and carbon emissions. Currently, less than 1% of used clothing is recycled and reused for garments. *

Read more

We can take this approach one step further by following the biological or technical cycle of the Cradle to Cradle® model. In this model, valuable and proven solutions are used to design fully circular products: no toxins in, no toxins out.

Unfortunately, small textile labels face great difficulties in overcoming the hurdles on their way to becoming circular. So far, only some large companies with plenty of resources have been able achieve a certain degree of circularity. We will change this. As a member of the cooperative CIRCULAR CLOTHING, textile labels can join the collaboration platform to use its purchasing power. This access to a certified supply chain ensures the requirements to produce and design Cradle to Cradle Certified ® products.

Will you be the next label with a Cradle to Cradle Certified® collection? Join our network and contribute to the paradigm shift in the textile industry.

Source: *Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Cradle to Cradle ® Design defines and develops cyclable products. Compared to conventional recycling, the quality of the raw materials remains intact throughout multiple product lifecycles and, only fully safety-assessed chemicals are used. The products are developed according to the Cradle to Cradle® model in order to maintain the quality of the raw materials over multiple life cycles, taking into account the production processes, use and reutilisation. This means: no waste, as all ingredients are considered nutrients. The right materials are integrated into defined cycles (metabolism) at the right time and place – epeaswitzerland.com

What is the circular economy? The circular economy is based on the principles of designing without waste and pollution, keeping products and materials in use, and regenerating natural systems – ellenmcarthurfoundation.org

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER AND JOIN THOSE WHO ALREADY SIGNED UP

Learn about valuable insights and get inspired!

ZIRKULÄREN TEXTILIEN
GEHÖRT DIE ZUKUNFT

Kannst du dir vorstellen, Textilien zu entwerfen, die vollkommen sicher und vollständig kreislauffähig sind? Es ist unsere Vision, diesen Wandel möglich zu machen – für einen besseren Planeten! Damit die Produkte von heute die Rohstoffe von morgen werden, braucht es einen zirkulären Ansatz.

RCC illustration

Kreislauffähiges Design

Wissensvermittlung in Form einer Toolbox mit Materialproben, einem Leitfaden, Workshops und Vorträgen.

Zugang zu sicheren Materialien

Gemeinsame Nutzung einer Cradle to Cradle Certified®-Lieferkette und Aufbau der notwendigen Kaufkraft.

Gemeinsam Cradle to Cradle Certified® zertifizieren

Zusammenarbeiten und den Zugang zu einer Cradle to Cradle®-Dachzertifizierung ermöglichen.

Verwendung & Wiederverwendung

Austausch von Wissen und Zugang zu Miet-, Secondhand- sowie Repair- und Upcycling-Services.

Zurück zur Erde

Zugang zur Rückführungslogistik, d.h. zu allen Vorgängen von Produkt- und Material-Wiederverwendung bis hin zu industriellen Kompostieranlagen.

ZIRKULÄRE TEXTILIEN NEU DENKEN

Wir glauben daran, Cradle to Cradle® zum Industriestandard zu machen und kleine Mode- und Textillabels zu befähigen, ihre Kräfte zu bündeln, um den Paradigmenwechsel hin zu mehr sozialer und ökologischer Verantwortung zu beschleunigen.

Mehr

Dank intensiver Material- und Herstellungsrecherche lancierte Circular Clothing bereits über 30 Cradle to Cradle Certified® Produkte. Dieser bahnbrechende Erfolg beruht auf einer gemeinsamen Lieferkette und dem Zugang zu kreislauffähigen Materialien und Produktionsprozessen sowie der Unterstützung von Partnern wie dem Migros-Pionierfonds, epeaswitzerland und der Stadt Zürich.

Die Industrie und Kommunen bieten noch keine Lösung für das Kompostieren von gebrauchten Cradle to Cradle-Produkten an. Bis es soweit ist, könnt ihr einen positiven Beitrag leisten, indem ihr Cradle to Cradle-Produkte nicht im Hausmüll entsorgt, sondern an unsere Genossenschafter retourniert oder in Kleidersammelstellen deponiert. Somit gelangen die Textilien in den richtigen Materialkreislauf. Durch die Weiterverwendung oder das Recycling vermindern wir den Verbrauch von neuen Materialien und schonen so unseren Planeten. Vielen Dank!

Wie weit bist du auf dem zirkulären Weg?

Möchtest du ein zirkuläres Textillabel werden? Nutze unser Online-Assessment-Tool und beginn deinen Weg hin zur Cradle to Cradle®-Zertifizierung.

MEIN PRODUKT BEWERTEN
Product
Material Health
Circular Product Design
Renewable Energy
Water Stewardship and Soil

*The credits for implementation and finalisation: Jamliah Joseph and credits for ideation: Bachelor Students of HSLU DMI; Stefanie Bumbacher, Julia Ahlberg, Yehia Abouzaid and Katharina Payr.

BEREIT FÜR DEN ZIRKULÄREN WEG?

Werde jetzt Circular Clothing Genossenschafter:in oder Assoziierte:r und gestalte die Zukunft mit: Mehr kreislauffähige und gesunde Produkte für alle!

Noch Fragen? Dann kontaktiere uns via info@circularclothing.org

Wir freuen uns auf dich!

Die Circular Clothing Genossenschafter:innen

FÜR EINEN BESSEREN PLANETEN

Die heutige Modeindustrie und insbesondere der Fast-Fashion-Sektor verschlingen Ressourcen. Sie verschleissen Menschen, vergiften Ökosysteme und zerstören die Lebensgrundlage von Millionen.

Bis zu 60 % aller Kleidungsstücke werden innerhalb eines Jahres nach ihrer Produktion zu Abfall, und 40 % aller produzierten Kleidungsstücke werden nicht einmal verkauft oder benutzt*.

Mehr

Dies ist eine enorme Verschwendung von Ressourcen. Darüber hinaus sind viele der in der Industrie verwendeten Materialien aufgrund von giftigen und krebserregenden Substanzen nicht sicher für Mensch und Umwelt.

Diese Herausforderungen sind in der Modeindustrie allgegenwärtig, und sie sind sehr real. Dem Planeten zuliebe, den wir zukünftigen Generationen hinterlassen wollen, müssen wir überdenken, wie wir Kleidung entwerfen, herstellen und verwenden.

Wir stellen uns eine Zero-Waste-Textilindustrie vor, in der die vorhandenen Ressourcen in einem kontinuierlichen und geschlossenen Kreislauf genutzt werden. Wir wollen die Ausbeutung der Erde stoppen und unseren Planeten für künftige Generationen bewahren.

Quelle: *Ellen MacArthur Foundation

KREISLAUFWIRTSCHAFT ANWENDEN

Den Kreislauf zu schliessen bedeutet, von einem linearen zu einem zirkulären System überzugehen: vom derzeitigen «take, make, waste»-Modell hin zu einem geschlossenen Kreislaufsystem oder einer «Kreislaufwirtschaft».

Der Ansatz der Kreislaufwirtschaft für die Textilindustrie zielt darauf ab, Abfälle zu eliminieren und den sorglosen Umgang mit Ressourcen zu beenden. Von Anfang an werden Kleidungsstücke für die Wiederverwendung, das Teilen, die Reparatur, die Wiederaufbereitung, das Recycling oder die Kompostierung konzipiert, um ein geschlossenes Kreislaufsystem zu schaffen und den Einsatz von Ressourcen und die Entstehung von Abfall, Verschmutzung und Kohlenstoffemissionen zu minimieren. Derzeit wird weniger als 1 % der gebrauchten Kleidung recycelt und für Kleidungsstücke wiederverwendet*.

Mehr

Wir können diesen Ansatz noch einen Schritt weiter gehen, indem wir dem biologischen oder technischen Kreislauf des Cradle to Cradle®-Modells folgen. In diesem Modell werden wertvolle und bewährte Lösungen verwendet, um vollständig zirkuläre Produkte zu entwerfen: keine Giftstoffe rein, keine Giftstoffe raus.

Leider haben kleine Textillabels grosse Schwierigkeiten, die Hürden auf dem Weg zur Kreislaufwirtschaft zu überwinden. Bislang konnten nur einige grosse Unternehmen mit vielen Ressourcen einen gewissen Grad an Kreislauffähigkeit erreichen. Das werden wir ändern. Als Genossenschaftler von CIRCULAR CLOTHING können Textillabels einem der Kollaborationsplattform beitreten, um dessen Kaufkraft zu nutzen. Der Zugang zu einer zertifizierten Lieferkette sichert die Voraussetzungen, um Cradle to Cradle Certified®-Produkte zu produzieren und zu gestalten.

Wirst du das nächste Label mit einer Cradle to Cradle Certified®-Kollektion sein?
Tritt unserem Netzwerk bei und trage zum Paradigmenwechsel in der Textilindustrie bei.

Quelle: *Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Cradle to Cradle®-Design definiert und entwickelt kreislauffähige Produkte. Im Vergleich zum konventionellen Recycling bleibt die Qualität der Rohstoffe über mehrere Produktlebenszyklen erhalten und es werden nur vollständig sicherheitsgeprüfte Chemikalien eingesetzt. Die Produkte werden nach dem Cradle to Cradle®-Modell entwickelt, um die Qualität der Rohstoffe über mehrere Lebenszyklen zu erhalten, wobei die Produktionsprozesse, die Nutzung und die Wiederverwendung berücksichtigt werden. Das bedeutet: keine Verschwendung, da alle Inhaltsstoffe als Nährstoffe betrachtet werden. Die richtigen Materialien werden zur richtigen Zeit und am richtigen Ort in definierte Kreisläufe (Metabolismus) integriert – epeaswitzerland.com

Was ist die Kreislaufwirtschaft? Die Kreislaufwirtschaft basiert auf den Prinzipien, ohne Abfall und Verschmutzung zu gestalten, Produkte und Materialien im Gebrauch zu halten und natürliche Systeme zu regenerieren – ellenmacarthurfoundation.org

ABONNIERE DEN NEWSLETTER UND TRETE UNSEREM NETZWERK BEI

Lerne wertvolle Erkenntnisse kennen und lass dich inspirieren!